Skip to content

“Fitzcarraldo”

14 January 2010

By The Frames and The Swell Season

Here, back, down a long and straight track,
I have chose the long road
That leads me out to God knows,
But I can’t stop right now.

Even the good stars can fall from grace and falter,
Lose their faith and slide.
But I can’t get an ocean
that’s deep enough…

…for my day:
It’s the first of the ascension,
It’s a sad way we’ve flown after the storm
And her last words were, “I was always thinking of you.”
In my g–olden days I was your slave

Well, now it’s time for to sound your voice
And capture what you’re after.
My ship was sold right up the river.
But I’m not going…

…down here.
This journey isn’t over,
It’s a long way to the house of Fitzcarraldo.
And her last words were, “I was always thinking of you.”
In my g–olden days I’ll be your saint.

Even the good stars can fall from grace and falter,
Like lapdogs that stride that mystery.
And her last words were, “I’ll see you down in history.”
It’s the only way that we can go.

I shall eclipse you.

It’s a long way to Fitzcarraldo,
And I don’t want to pray for you
In the name of something true.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

