Skip to content

“Salvation Song”

13 February 2010

And if you take my heart,
Don’t leave the smallest part.
I’ve no need to live if you’re to come up gone.
And as my life turns to a song,
And if and when I treat you wrong,
No, I never want to hurt our family.

And I would give up everything,
No, this is not just about me.
And I don’t know a plainer way to say it, Babe.
And they may pay us off in fame,
Though that is not why we came
And I know well and good that won’t heal our hearts.

We came for salvation.
We came for family.
We came for all that’s good that’s how we’ll walk away.
We came to break the bad.
We came to cheer the sad.
We came to leave behind the world a better way.

Now, if I’m walkin’ through the rain
And I hear you call my name,
I will break into a run without a pause.
And if your love laughs at your dreams,
Well, it’s not as bad as it seems.
Either way one of them has got to go.
And if you take of my soul,
You can still leave it whole
With the pieces of you own you leave behind.

We came for salvation.
We came for family.
We came for all that’s good that’s how we’ll walk away.
We came to break the bad.
We came to cheer the sad.
We came to leave behind the world a better way.

And I would give up everything
And if you were to come up clean,
And see you shine so bright in a world of woe.
And they may pay us off in fame,
But that is not why we came,
And if it compromises truth then we will go.

We came for salvation.
We came for family.
We came for all that’s good that’s how we’ll walk away.
We came to break the bad.
We came to cheer the sad.
We came to leave behind the world a better way.

One Comment leave one →
  1. 13 February 2010 16:31

    I freaking LOVE this song. I heart Seth and Scotty Avett.

Leave a Reply

