Skip to content

“I hate to leave this place”

26 April 2010

As a senior at UNC, on May 17, 1920, less than a month before graduating, Thomas Wolfe wrote the following to his girlfriend in Asheville:

I hate to leave this place. It’s mighty hard. It’s the oldest of the state universities and there’s an atmosphere here that’s fine and good. Other universities have larger student bodies and bigger and finer buildings, but in Spring there are none, I know, so wonderful by half. I saw Carolina graduates when I was home for Christmas who were doing graduate work at Yale, Harvard, and Columbia. It would seem that they would forget the old brown buildings in more splendid surroundings, but it was always the same reply: “There’s no place on earth that can equal Carolina.” That’s why I hate to leave this big fine place.

Amen, brother. I couldn’t have said it better myself.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

