Skip to content

Brahms on the…you guessed it…vuvuzela

28 June 2010

I won’t lie, I think the vuvuzela is one of the most incredibly amusing things ever. There’s something so ridiculous about them, something so obnoxious, that you can only laugh.

These brass players from the Konzerthausorchester Berlin take it to a new level. They butcher a Brahms theme and a bit from Bolero with completely straight faces, though the guy in the middle who gives the examples is clearly struggling. As a word of warning, I’d turn down my volume when they start playing.

[via The Atlantic’s Benjamin Carlson]

One Comment leave one →
  1. Lee Thomas permalink
    28 June 2010 21:49

    I’m a bit confused; thought that I detected some irony in the review.

    I found these performances quite moving. But of course, I have little experience with serious music!

Leave a Reply

