Skip to content

“This is My Song, O God of all the Nations”

4 July 2010

On this Fourth of July, let us celebrate our country, our home, and all the freedoms we enjoy here. But let us never slip into deriding other nations into bolstering our own; let us always remember that patriotism is not nationalism. And let us always remember those who are not free, both within this country and without, and our duty to them.

This is a hymn based on the melody from Jean Sibelius’s famous tone-poem Finlandia:

This is my song, O God of all the nations,
A song of peace for lands afar and mine.
This is my home, the country where my heart is;
Here are my hope, my dreams, my holy shrine;
But other hearts in other lands are beating
With hope and dreams as true and high as mine.

My country’s skies are bluer than the ocean
And sunlight beams on cloverleaf and pine;
But other lands have sunlight, too, and clover,
And skies are everywhere as blue as mine.
O hear my song, O God of all the nations,
A song of peace for their land and for mine.

[Hat-tip to Marcus Borg’s The Heart of Christianity for teaching me this beautiful hymn]

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Lee Thomas permalink
    4 July 2010 13:41

    Good contribution. Thanks, and Happy Independence Day.

  2. 5 July 2010 15:24

    “Finlandia” in any form is the most perfect music I have ever heard; this rendition did it proud. Thank you.

Leave a Reply

