Skip to content

“Holiday”

27 July 2010

Going on holiday. Back next week. In the meantime, enjoy this delightfully absurd (and somewhat poking fun at themselves) music video from Vampire Weekend.

[With a bit of attention, though, the whole his is rather subversive. The lyrics concern a girl becomes a vegetarian after the invasion of Iraq, simply as a physical reaction, and tries to escape the horrors of war. The use of 17th, 18th, and 19th ct. British garb suggests a correlation between the Iraq War and British colonialism.]

Holiday, oh, holiday!
And the best one of the year.
Dozing off underneath my sheets
while I cover both my ears.

But if I wait for a holiday,
could it stop my fear?
To go away on a summer’s day
never seemed so clear.

Holiday, still so far away,
our republic on the beach.
I can’t forget just how bad it gets
when I’m counting on my tea.

But if I wait for a holiday,
could it stop my fear?
To go away on a summer’s day
never seemed so clear.

A vegetarian since the invasion,
she’d never seen the word “bombs”,
she’d never seen the word “bombs” blown-up
to 96 point Futura.

She’d never see an A-K
in a yellowy Day-Glo display.
A t-shirt so lovely it turned
all the history book grey.

I got wheels, I got Cutter spray
and a healthy sense of worth.
Half of me is the gasoline,
but the other half’s the surf.

So if I wait for a holiday,
could it stop my fear?
To go away on a summer’s day
never seemed so clear.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

