Skip to content

“Close to You”

27 September 2010

My mother loves the Carpenters. For some reason unbeknownst to me, this song has been in my head for the past several days. I’m not fighting it.

Why do birds suddenly appear
every time you are near?
Just like me, they long to be
close to you.

Why do stars fall down from the sky
every time you walk by?
Just like me, they long to be
close to you.

On the day that you were born, the angels got together
and decided to create a dream come true.
So, they sprinkled moon-dust in your hair
of gold and starlight in your eyes of blue.

That is why all the girls in town
follow you all around:
Just like me, they long to be
close to you.

On the day that you were born, the angels got together
and decided to create a dream come true.
So they sprinkled moon-dust in your hair
of gold and starlight in your eyes of blue.

That is why all the girls in town
follow you all around:
Just like me, they long to be
close to you.

Just like me, they long to be
close to you.

Aah, close to you.
Aah, close to you.
Aah, close to you.
Aah, close to you.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. 27 September 2010 20:44

    I won’t lie to you, I love this song. I may or may not break out into song like Tommy Boy and Richard when the Carpenters come on.

  2. Lee Thomas permalink
    1 October 2010 19:31

    Wow. I remember the first time I heard the song, in less complicated times: Learner’s Permit, license to follow the next month, a Philadelphia winter; L. parked on Stenton Avenue, behind the wheel, waiting for Dad, who had ducked into a pharmacy for shaving cream. Still have the original vinyl; think will spin it right now!

Leave a Reply

