Skip to content

On frigidity

24 January 2011

It’s cold. It’s really cold. As in, I woke up this morning, looked at the weather, and began to cry. This morning, -2˚. High for today, 14˚. They’ve told me that this is pretty much as cold as it’s going to get in Boston. I sure as hell hope so. Because I don’t think I’m leaving the house again if it’s anywhere near this.

It’s times like this that I think we should take a cue from the animal kingdom. Either hibernate or migrate South. I don’t understand why anyone voluntarily puts herself through this. Though, I am a Southerner and our moods and overall demeanor are weather-dependent. (This is why you hear Southerners talking about the weather so much–it’s not always idle chatter, it often is referring to how we’re feeling by extension.)

It appears that Bostonians are even struggling with this. There was an ongoing discussion on the Boston Globe website today called “It’s so cold…” with all sorts of jokes about the extent of the cold.

But still. I’m not cut out for this.

(Photo by Bill Greene for the Boston Globe)

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

