Skip to content

“Roll Away Your Stone”

26 January 2011

I’ve been rocking out to Mumford and Sons for the better part of a year now.

This song was the first I fell in love with, and it is still so amazing on so many levels. First of all, the lyrics are just beautiful. Second, the contrasts between the verses (subdued, few instruments) and the chorus (playing their hearts out) is pretty unreal; the first time you hear that first interlude between the first two verses, it kind of takes your breath away. Third, for a band based out of London, I’m shocked at how much Mumford and Sons sound like a string band from home. They’re part of the so called “West London folk scene”, which sounds ridiculous, but if there are other English people producing music like this, welcome: we’re glad to have you.

Roll away your stone, I’ll roll away mine.
Together we can see what we can find.
Don’t leave me alone at this time,
For I am afraid of what I will discover inside.

You told me that I would find a home,
Within the fragile substance of my soul.
And I have filled this void with things unreal,
And all the while my character it steals.

But “darkness” is a harsh term, don’t you think?
And yet it dominates the things I see.

It seems that all my bridges have been burned,
But you say that’s exactly how this grace thing works.
It’s not the long walk home that will change this heart,
But the welcome I receive with the restart.

But “darkness” is a harsh term, don’t you think?
And yet it dominates the things I see.
Well, “darkness” is a harsh term, don’t you think?
And yet it dominates the things I see.

Stars, hide your fires,
These here are my desires,
And I won’t give them up to you this time around.
And so, I’ll be found with my stake stuck in this ground,
Marking the territory of this newly impassioned soul.

But you, you’ve gone too far this time.
You have neither reason nor rhyme
With which to take this soul that is so rightfully mine.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

