Skip to content

“The Lowering”

16 February 2011

From back in the day, when the Avett Brothers were just these kids from Concord trying to do it big. And look at them now, on the Grammy’s and all. It warms my heart.

This song came on my iPod on the way to work yesterday, during the 10mins or so that my train wasn’t moving because of delays. It actually set the perfect tone for the day’s progression.

If I had known your heart was down
that lonely day in Greenvilletown,
then I would have been more concerned,
but later on I truly learned
how it can feel in every bone
to really see that you’re all alone.

But I’ll, I’ll kiss your head
when death finds your bed
and you are gone.

And if I had seen the way it would be,
I’d hushed your cries when you came to me.
If I could do what I did to you,
The same to me, then I would love for you to see

That I sleep with remorse,
and regret hangs round my door
Forevermore.

And if I had known the lowering tide
was lowering with the way you felt inside,
if I had known all hope was gone
a broken heart and a broken home

That pierced my lover’s past
and carved a lonely path
for her to walk.

So, if ever someone says to you,
“Life isn’t fair, get used to it,”
then you should say
“Well, it might be,
if folks like you would let it be.”

But I’ll, I’ll kiss your head
when death becomes my bed,
and I am gone.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

