Skip to content

“Dog Days”

19 August 2011

By David Mikush

The dog days of the summer were hotter,
we’re cooling off down in the water.
We knew better than to fall in love
through every little kiss and hug.

The Carolina moon is brighter,
the Carolina rhythm is tighter,
the long hours way out on the island,
firewater in the night.

And we knew that it was so good when we were together,
and everything came so much better.
All the bells inside us ringing,
and we were singing:

“We belong in the arms of the sea, and I know
You belong in the water next to me.”

The dog days of the summer outran us,
and now I’m headed back to Atlanta.
I know better than to turn around
we’re packing it in, and breaking it down.

I go back to my girl on campus,
you go back to your boy in Kansas.
And we can dream about the days next summer,
sweet kisses in the night.

And we know that it will be so good when we are together,
and everything is so much better.
All the bells inside us ringing,
and we’ll be singing:

“We belong in the arms of the sea, and I know
You belong in the water next to me.”

Just a boy and girl—the same mistake again,
We fall in love, the big waves breakin’,
That same old song, the same bells ringing,
and we’ll be singing:

“We belong in the arms of the sea,
You belong in water next to me.”

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

